India's women cricketers can now play in overseas leagues in Australia and England, subject to their contracts being approved by the BCCI. The decision, taken during a meeting of the BCCI's women's cricket committee on Wednesday, paves the way for India's players to take part in tournaments such as the Women's Big Bash League in Australia and the Women's Super League in England.
The BCCI's announcement may have come too late, however, for Indian participation in the inaugural WSL, which will be held this year from July 30 to August 14. The BCCI had yet to decide on the issue when the ECB sent a letter to all Full Members seeking their permission to enlist players. The ECB signed up 18 overseas players - from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies - and unveiled its final squad lists in April.
Indian players were also absent from the inaugural WBBL.