Dan Cullen has been included in the one-day squad for the series against Bangladesh © Getty Images

Dan Cullen, the South Australia offspinner, has replaced Mick Lewis as the only change in Australia's one-day squad for the tour of Bangladesh beginning in April. The Test side remains unchanged after a series win in South Africa.

"It's been a tough few weeks and I'm obviously disappointed to be left out of the Australian team," said Lewis. "There was a lot of noise following the final game in South Africa, and while it wasn't my favourite performance, I don't believe that this was the only reason for my omission.

"The conditions in Bangladesh suit the spinners a bit more, so it's understandable that a quick missed out. The selectors have shown with the likes of Kaspa [Michael Kasprowicz] that being dropped doesn't mean the end of the road so I'll push as hard as I can to regain my form, and hopefully my spot in the team."

Lewis had a torrid time during Australia's 3-2 loss to South Africa in the recent one-day series. He picked up just two wickets in three games and conceded a world record 113 runs from ten overs in the final game at Johannesburg. He also received a flogging in the Pura Cup final against Queensland, taking 1 for 156 from 39 overs. Lewis will play for Durham during the Australian winter.

Trevor Hohns, the chairman of selectors, said that the extra spinner would be useful for the conditions in Bangladesh. "With the players in the current squad we feel we are well covered for the conditions that may prevail in Bangladesh. We have brought Daniel Cullen into the one-day squad to give him an opportunity to perform at the next level," said Hohns. "It will be a good test for Daniel and we think it is the right time to give him some experience and a chance to be a part of the Australian team environment."

Test squad
Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting (capt), Damien Martyn, Michael Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Brett Lee, Shane Warne, Stuart MacGill, Shaun Tait, Stuart Clark, Michael Kasprowicz

ODI squad
Adam Gilchrist (wk), Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (capt), Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Shane Watson, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Brad Hogg, Stuart Clark, Daniel Cullen, Mitchell Johnson