Eden Gardens to host 2016 World T20 final

Eight cities - Kolkata, Bangalore, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi - have been named as venues for the World Twenty20 next year, with Kolkata hosting the final

Eight cities - Kolkata, Bangalore, Chennai, Dharamsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and Delhi - have been named as venues for the World Twenty20 that begins on March 11 next year. Kolkata will host the final on April 3.
"BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event," BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said. "All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans."
Chennai was included in the list of venues despite uncertainty surrounding the use of the venue's I, J and K stands, which have been locked during matches at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the last three years.
It is understood that the BCCI, while shortlisting Chennai as a venue, had informed TNCA that it would have to resolve the locked-stands dispute to host the games. Otherwise, the city would lose its hosting rights, according to the prescribed requirements of ICC and BCCI. BCCI is also understood to have been in favour of eight venues as opposed to five that the ICC recommended initially. This will be the first World T20 to feature more than three venues.
BCCI's general manager, cricket operations, MV Sridhar, has been appointed tournament director for the World T20. Former Bihar left-arm spinner Prasad Rao has been appointed manager, cricket operations while Neeraj Kumar, the former Delhi Police commissioner, will be Director of Security and Anti-Corruption Security Unit. The other members of the organising committee are: Amrit Mathur (principal coordinator), RP Shah (tournament manager, finance), Mayank Parikh (manager, logistics and hospitality) and Nishant Arora (tournament media manager).