The International Cricket Council has made a number of changes in both the Asia and Rest of the World XI squads for the match, to be held in the Bangabandhu National Stadium at Dhaka. This was disclosed by Mr. Dalmiya at a press conference in Calcutta and later announced at a Bangladesh Cricket Board press release, yesterday.

Injured Saeed Anwar will be replaced by India's skipper Saurav Ganguly, who finally gets a spot in Asia XI. World record holder for most test wickets Courtney Walsh will join the World XI in place of Curtly Ambrose.

Injury problems have forced the ICC to make more changes including, the replacement of Shoaib Akhtar by Sri Lanka's Chaminda Vaas in the Asia XI, Nantie Hayward for Allan Donald and Phil Tufnell for Daniel Vettori in the Rest of the World XI.

The World XI will now be led by Mark Waugh in the absence of Brian Lara. Andy Flower, Zimbabwe's wicket keeper captain, comes in to fill Lara's spot.

S Venkataraghavan (India) and David Orchard (South Africa) have been selected as the umpires on the field while Doug Cowie (New Zealand) will be the third umpire and Peter van der Merwe (South Africa) the match referee.

The winning team of this encounter will receive $30,000, while the man of the match, best batsman, bowler and fielder will each be awarded $2,500.

The squads:

Asia XI: Wasim Akram (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya (vice-capt), Saurav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Aravinda De Silva, Ajay Jadeja, Robin Singh, Moin Khan, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas and Abdul Razzaq.

Rest of the World XI: Mark Waugh (captain), Chris Cairns (vice-capt), Andy Flower, Michael Bevan, Neil Johnson, Adam Gilchrist, Jacques Kallis, Lance Klusener, Phil Tufnell, Courtney Walsh, Nantie Hayward and Andy Caddick.