Sixteen Associate and Affiliate teams will compete for two available spots in the 2012 World Twenty20 during a 72-match qualifying tournament in the UAE from March 13 to 24.

The teams are divided into two groups of eight with the top three in each group having a chance to win a place in the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

The top two teams of each group will meet in the first qualifying final with the winner guaranteed a place at the World Twenty20. The loser of that match will play in the second qualifying final against the winner of a series of play-off matches. The winners of both qualifying finals will meet in the tournament final in Dubai.

The winner of the tournament will be pooled with Australia and West Indies in group B of the World Twenty20, while the other team will be in group A with defending champions England and 2007 winners India.

Afghanistan and Ireland made it from the qualifying tournament in 2010, with Afghanistan winning he competition by eight-wickets.

Group A
Afghanistan, Netherlands, Canada, Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong, Bermuda, Denmark, Nepal.

Group B
Ireland, Kenya, Scotland, Namibia, Uganda, Oman, Italy, USA.