Matches (18)
IND v ENG (1)
PSL 2024 (2)
WCL 2 (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
NZ v AUS (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
CWC Play-off (3)
WPL (1)
WI 4-Day (4)

New Zealand domestic squads for 2020-21 season

Daryl Mitchell, Jeet Raval and Finn Allen among major domestic movers

Andrew McGlashan
Andrew McGlashan
Daryl Mitchell acknowledges the applause after bringing up his fifty on Test debut  •  AFP / Getty Images

Daryl Mitchell acknowledges the applause after bringing up his fifty on Test debut  •  AFP / Getty Images

The New Zealand domestic squads have been confirmed for the 2020-21 season. Each squad can include up to 16 players (centrally contracted New Zealand players are not included).


Colin Munro returns to the domestic list having lost his central contract, while top-order batsman Will O'Donnell has been given his first deal. Auckland's batting will have to cover for the loss of Finn Allen and Jeet Raval, who have left for Wellington and Northern Districts respectively.
Squad Graeme Beghin, Ross ter Braak, Jamie Brown, Mark Chapman, Louis Delport, Danru Ferns, Ben Horne, Ben Lister, Matt McEwan, Colin Munro, Robbie O'Donnell, William O'Donnell, Glenn Phillips, Ollie Pringle, Sean Solia, Will Somerville
Centrally contracted: Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson
What they said
Coach Heinrich Malan: "It is great to reward a young player like Will, who has starred in club cricket for some time and successfully come through our A-programme. It is pleasing to have a solid group of players who have played together over the last few years. We are looking forward to seeing how the group continues to develop over the next twelve months."


New Zealand allrounder Daryl Mitchell, who made his Test debut against England last year, has completed one of the major off-season moves by heading south from Northern Districts. Legspinner Todd Astle, who retired from first-class cricket earlier this year, has been handed a contract.
Squad Todd Astle, Chad Bowes, Jack Boyle, Leo Carter, Sean Davey, Cam Fletcher, Andrew Hazeldine, Tyler Lorton, Ken McClure, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Ed Nuttall, Fraser Sheat, Henry Shipley, Theo van Woerkom, Will Williams
Centrally contracted: Tom Latham, Matt Henry, Henry Nicholls
What they said
High-performance manager Marty Croy: "Daryl brings a wealth of experience having performed at an international level and will be a huge asset to the team. The value of Daryl is immense, not only through his playing ability, but also what he can bring to our group as far as his approach to performance and his desire to win titles for Canterbury.

Central Districts

Brad Schmulian, a 29-year-old batsman who scored a double century on first-class debut in 2017, has secured his first contract alongside 21-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Bayley Wiggins.
Squad Doug Bracewell, Tom Bruce, Josh Clarkson, Dane Cleaver, Greg Hay, Jayden Lennox, Christian Leopard, Adam Milne, Seth Rance, Ben Smith, Brad Schmulian, Blair Tickner, Ray Toole, Ben Wheeler, Bayley Wiggins, George Worker
Centrally contracted: Ajaz Patel, Ross Taylor, Will Young
What they said
High performance manager Lance Hamilton: "A number of our senior players were very unlucky with injuries and surgery that affected their availability last season. The likes of Adam Milne and Doug Bracewell will be really relishing a return to regular cricket after sitting out all, or most, of last season. We had a horrible run with injuries across the season but we still finished runners-up in the Plunket Shield, and came out of it with a number of our younger or developing players now having had game time and valuable opportunities in the absence of more senior players."

Northern Districts

Raval, who lost his central contract for 2020-21, will look to revive his fortunes with the short relocation to Northern Districts.
Squad James Baker, Peter Bocock, Dean Brownlie, Joe Carter, Katene Clarke, Henry Cooper, Anton Devcich, Zak Gibson, Brett Hampton, Scott Kuggeleijn, Brett Randell, Jeet Raval, Tim Seifert, Anuray Verma, Joe Walker (16th player TBC)
Centrally contracted: Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson


Dale Phillips, brother of New Zealand player Glenn, is one of two new faces for Otago after making his debut last season alongside wicketkeeper-batsman Max Chu. Mark Craig, the former New Zealand offspinner, wasn't considered after deciding to take a break from the game, after which he has undergone back surgery.
Squad Matt Bacon, Neil Broom, Max Chu, Jacob Duffy, Josh Finnie, Dean Foxcroft, Camden Hawkins, Anaru Kitchen, Nick Kelly, Jarrod McKay, Dale Phillips, Hamish Rutherford, Mitch Renwick, Michael Rippon, Michael Rae, Nathan Smith
What they said
Performance manager Simon Forde: "[We need to] strengthen our seam bowling stocks. We were very light last year in terms of numbers of seam bowlers in the group so the focus of our second round of contracting will be building depth in that department to complement our exciting attack led by Jacob Duffy."


Allen, the 21-year-old batsman, is one of the most highly regarded young prospects in New Zealand cricket and joins Wellington alongside 22-year-old Troy Johnson. Allen scored a century for a New Zealand XI against England last year and will help cover the potential loss of Devon Conway to international duty once he qualifies in September.
Squad Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Jakob Bhula, Michael Bracewell, Fraser Colson, Andrew Fletcher, Jamie Gibson, Lauchie Johns, Troy Johnson, Iain McPeake, Ollie Newton, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Michael Snedden, Logan van Beek, Peter Younghusband
Centrally contracted: Devon Conway, Tom Blundell, Jimmy Neesham
What they said
Head coach Glenn Pocknall: "We're really excited to be able to add two high quality batsmen and equally great blokes to the squad who we know will contribute on and off the field for us. We're all about developing people and we play an important role in assisting them reach their goals. In these two guys we know what they're wanting to achieve, and we look forward to supporting their careers."

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo