The second edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is set to begin on January 17 next year, the Bangladesh Cricket Board has confirmed. The inaugural edition, played from February 10 to February 29, 2012, was won by Dhaka Gladiators.

The franchise auction will be held on November 9 this year, and the players' auction will follow it, on December 7.

Apart from the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur and the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong, the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna will host BPL matches. Two more stadiums - the Sylhet Divisional Stadium and the Shahid Kamaruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi - will host the warm-up games.

There would be three categories of players to be auctioned. 'Golden' category players would have a base price of US$75,000, the foreign cricketers would have base prices ranging from $50,000 to $15,000, and the local players will have base prices ranging from $30,000 to $10,000.

The second edition of the BPL will be without icon players. Shahriar Nafees, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Alok Kapali were the icon players in the 2012 BPL.