At Sharjah, December 20. Sri Lanka won by six wickets. Toss: Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka owed victory to a fine performance in the field - their wicket-keeper, Tillekeratne, took five catches - and the bowling of Ratnayake, who returned his best figures in one-day internationals. Unfortunately the match was overshadowed by an incident involving Imran Khan, who objected to the number of wides being called, and the Indian umpire, P. D. Reporter, who threatened to leave the field until placated by Javed Miandad. Sri Lanka's total of 172 included 26 wides. Captain Arjuna Ranatunga and Mahanama saw them to their target with an unbeaten fifth-wicket stand of 77, after Wasim Akram had dismissed both openers cheaply. Earlier Pakistan had collapsed from 46 for no wicket to 57 for four, with Ratnayake dismissing Zahid Fazal and Salim Malik in successive balls. Only Imran and Ijaz Ahmed, with a stand of 76, saved them from worse embarrassment.

Man of the Match: R. J. Ratnayake.