Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel (NSP) today announced a Prime Minister's XI team to play India in the annual tour match at Canberra's Manuka Oval on Wednesday January 28.

The Prime Minister's XI is:

Stephen Waugh (Captain)NSW
Matthew BradleyATSIC
Cade BrownACT
Mark ClearySA
Xavier DohertyTAS
Chris HartleyQLD
David HusseyVIC
Andrew McDonaldVIC
Marcus NorthWA
Shaun TaitSA
Damian WrightTAS

* Evan Kellar, from the ACT, has been named as 12th man.

Former Australian captain Stephen Waugh will lead the side, having last week accepted the Prime Minister's personal invitation.

He becomes the second Waugh in consecutive years to captain the Prime Minister's XI, after twin brother Mark was appointed captain for the match against England in 2003.

The squad comprises some of Australia's finest young cricketers, and includes four players to recently represent Australia A against Zimbabwe. They are South Australians Mark Cleary and Shaun Tait, Tasmanian Damien Wright, and Western Australian Marcus North.

Exciting Victorian batsman David Hussey has also been named following his outstanding double-century against New South Wales in Newcastle last week.

ACT grade cricketer Cade Brown has been included in the team, while Matthew Bradley, who last year captained an ATSIC XI against a Prime Minister's XI at the Adelaide Oval, has also been named.

NSP Chairman Trevor Hohns said the traditional fixture remained well received by the Canberra public and gave the squad's younger members an opportunity to play in front of a large, vocal crowd.

"The PM's XI continues to grow in popularity and this year's match promises to be one of the very best considering the strength of the current Indian squad," Hohns said.

"We've selected players who have been performing well at a domestic level, and this match gives them an opportunity to show their worth against one of the world's strongest limited-overs teams.

"It's good exposure for a lot of the younger guys who haven't as yet had an opportunity to perform at this level."

Hohns said he was delighted that Stephen Waugh had accepted the Prime Minister's invitation to captain the side.

"It's fantastic that Steve will captain the team in what is yet another great honour in an outstanding career," he said.

"Steve is a player most of these guys would have looked up to as they were coming through the ranks, and I know they will be thrilled to bits to play alongside him."

Play begins at Manuka Oval, Canberra, from 1000. Tickets are available from Ticketek on (02) 6219 6666 or online at