Matches (17)
T20 World Cup (4)
SL vs WI [W] (1)
WI Academy in IRE (1)
T20 Blast (8)
CE Cup (3)

SLC to launch its own T10 league in June 2023

The tournament titled Lanka T10 League will be played over 12 days in June 2023

Wanindu Hasaranga broke a 75-run opening stand, England vs Sri Lanka, ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, Sydney, November 5, 2022

Six men's and four women's team will take part in the league  •  ICC/Getty Images

Sri Lanka Cricket has pencilled in June 2023 for the launch of its inaugural T10 league. Titled the Lanka T10 League, the tournament will also host both a men's and women's tournament in the same slot first - meaning matches would take place "concurrently," potentially on alternating days, though SLC is yet to iron out the details.
SLC also announced that six men's teams and four women's teams will take part, with each to be named after a Sri Lankan city - similar to those in the Lanka Premier League.
While the precise dates and venues are yet to be finalised, it is expected that venues in Kandy and Hambantota will likely host the matches, while SLC anticipates substantial player registrations - over 1600, which was the number for the most recent Abu Dhabi T10 League - for the yet to be announced player draft.
Each team will be allowed a 16-member squad, in which there can be a maximum of six foreign players.
The tournament will be held over 12 days in June next year. However, going forward it is understood that SLC will look to hold it in December, with the LPL set for the August window.
"Next year also we will have the LPL in December, but going forward we have reserved a window in August for that," SLC CEO Ashley de Silva said. "So for next year, we will have the Lanka T10 in June and the LPL in December, but from 2024 onwards, the T10 tournament will move to December and the LPL to August."
Sri Lanka has long been a proponent of T10 cricket, with it being the first Full Member to sanction and endorse its players to participate in the Abu Dhabi T10 League. Since then, the cricket boards in the West Indies, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have followed suit.