Matches (16)
T20 World Cup (4)
IND v SA [W] (1)
WI Academy in IRE (1)
CE Cup (4)
T20 Blast (6)

Prem 120*, Thakkar 117, as Kerala dominate

A round-up of the first day of Group C matches in the sixth round of the 2016-17 Ranji

Rohan Prem's century salvaged a draw for Kerala, Himachal Pradesh v Kerala, Ranji Trophy, Group C, Dharamsala, 4th day, January 8, 2015

File photo - Rohan Prem's fourth consecutive score of 60-plus put Kerala in a commanding position  •  ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Bhavin Thakkar and Rohan Prem scored centuries as Kerala ended the first day on 290 for 2 against Goa at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.
Goa's decision to bowl first might have felt justified when opener Vishnu Vinod was removed in the seventh over with the score on 12. But their bowlers had no success for the next 70 overs, as Thakkar and Prem put on 234 for the second wicket. Thakkar scored 117 off 200 balls, with 14 boundaries, before he was bowled by Shadab Jakati.
Prem then took his team to stumps unbeaten on 120 - his fourth consecutive score above 60 - with Sanju Samson at the other end on 28.
Nineties from Nitin Saini and Rajat Paliwal helped Haryana reach 295 for 5 at stumps against Jammu & Kashmir in Cuttack.
J&K captain Parvez Rasool elected to field and took two early wickets in a first session where three fell. But opener Nitin Saini followed up an unbeaten 152 in his last innings with a 90 in this match, while putting on 94 for the fourth wicket with Paliwal. After his dismissal, Paliwal joined hands with Rohit Sharma (51), and the pair put on 109 for the fifth wicket, before Rasool removed Sharma off the last ball of the day. Paliwal was unbeaten on 99.
Half-centuries from B Sandeep (83*) and Mehdi Hasan (61) helped Hyderabad overcome a middle-order collapse to end the day on 303 for 7 against Services at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai.
A 105-run second-wicket stand between Akshath Reddy (64) and B Anirudh (49) had taken Hyderabad to 136 for 1 before a spell from medium-pacer Raushan Raj saw them lose 5 wickets between the 47th and 51st overs, to be reduced to 141 for 6. Raushan took four of those wickets, while Services captain Anshul Gupta accounted for his counterpart S Badrinath with a run-out.
But the effects of this collapse were negated when Sandeep and Hasan put on 135 for a seventh-wicket stand that took them into the final session without further damage, till Hasan was run out in the 80th over.
Andhra's opening bowlers took seven wickets between them as Tripura were bowled out for 171 on the first day in Valsad.
DP Vijaykumar (4-56) and CV Stephen (3-47) struck regularly after Andhra had elected to field, taking seven of the first eight wickets, to leave Tripura struggling at 107 for 8.
Nine Tripura batsmen got into double figures, but the top scorer was Bunti Roy, who came in at No. 10 and put 34 for the ninth wicket with Gurinder Singh (13) and 30 for the last wicket with Rajib Dutta (16*), before he was the last one dismissed for 34.
Andhra lost KS Bharat early in their response, but DB Prasanth (19*) and Hanuma Vihari (18*) took them to stumps on 47 for 1.
Chhattisgarh lost quick wickets on either side of two half-century stands, to finish the day on 212 for 7 against Himachal Pradesh in Kanpur.
Left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma, who took over the captaincy from Rishi Dhawan, was responsible for the second of those collapses. He took the last three wickets to fall on the day, including that of top-scorer Amandeep Khare (85) who had put on 51 for the fourth wicket with Ashutosh Singh (16) and 76 for the fifth with Avnish Dhaliwal (39) to lift Chhattisgarh out of trouble at 39 for 3. Bipul removed Dhaliwal shortly after, and bowled wicketkeeper Manoj Singh (21) in the 88th over to finish with 3 for 37.