Team of the tournament
Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) deserve a mention for their consistent show throughout the event. Blessed with some of the finest players in Pakistan's domestic circuit, they demonstrated self-belief, a remarkable depth in batting line-up and a formidable bowling attack, led by veteran Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and two young potent fast-bowlers Junaid Khan and Nasir Malik. They beat National Bank by 119 runs in the semi-final but fell 32 runs short in the final contest, losing to Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL), led by Misbah-ul-Haq.

Batsman of the tournament
Rafatullah Mohmand (WAPDA) is 36, but age isn't a limitation. In this tournament, he's scored 425 runs in six matches at an average of 85. Having spent five years struggling on the circuit, after his world-record, second-wicket partnership of 580 runs in 2009, Mohmand is back in contention with strong performances. He finished as the second-highest run-getter in the tournament behind team-mate Sohaib Maqsood (427) and his three consecutive hundreds paved the way for the team's success.

Azhar Ali (SNGPL) was the only batsman from the list of Pakistan's probables to score more than 300 in six matches. Ali scored 356 for SNGPL at an average of 89.00. Other batsmen to excel included Maqsood, who, though largely unheralded, provided WAPDA with stability at the top of the order. He scored 427 at 71.16 with a strike rate of 97.93.

Bowler of the tournament
Asad Ali (SNGPL) and Nasir Malik (WAPDA) had 10 wickets each before the teams met in the final. However, Ali's four-wicket haul helped him finish as the leading wicket-taker, while Malik finished with 13 wickets. Ali is not an express bowler but his ability to hit the deck with a decent line and length made him Misbah's best bowler.

Young player of the tournament
Kamran Akmal remains the first choice for the national side, but the tournament saw the emergence of a young, promising wicket-keeper. Peshawar-born Mohammad Rizwan (SNGPL) scored 118 runs at an average of 39.33 and effected six dismissals, while Akmal scored 249 runs at an average of 62.25 with a highest score of 132*.

Unsung hero of the tournament
Umar Amin (Port Qasim Authority), a stylish 23-year-old, left-hand batsman, who made his debut for Pakistan in 2010 and featured in four Tests, has been working hard to regain his spot in the national side. The leading run-scorer in the President's Trophy first-class tournament - with 767 runs in nine matches at an average of 45.11 - Amin did well in the one-day tournament, too, his recent scores being 112, 42, 32, 32.

Flop of the tournament
It has been a while since Umar Akmal scored enough runs to justify his immense flair. His scores in the tournament were poor, and he finished with 79 runs in six matches.

Captain of the tournament
Misbah-ul-Haq had a stellar domestic season. Apart from the President's One-day Cup tournament, he won the first-class and Twenty20 titles, leading SNGPL and Faisalabad Wolves. He has the highest number of wins as captain throughout the season, having won 21 out of the 25 games he captained in different formats.

Disappointment of the tournament
All eyes were set on Shahid Afridi, anticipating a return to form in his charismatic style. He has been out of form for more than a year now, and that has been a cause for concern. In the tournament, he managed 70 runs in four matches and failed with the ball, too, taking only three wickets at poor bowling average of 56.66.

Saleem Badar, one of Pakistan's most renowned umpires, called it a day. Almost 60, the final between SNGPL and WAPDA, where he officiated as TV umpire, was his last. He made his first class appearance in 1978 and went on to officiate in five Test matches (1988 - 1998), 29 ODIs (1988-2002), 272 first-class games and also supervised in the Commonwealth Games cricket. "It was great honor to supervise in four Asia Cups, five Test matches and 29 ODIs," said Badar on his last day. "I always enjoyed my job as an umpire and served the game with the best of my abilities."

Umar Farooq is ESPNcricinfo's Pakistan correspondent. He tweets here