Nawaz Khan is the only uncapped player in a 21-strong combined Afghanistan squad named for their ODI and T20 series against Zimbabwe, to be played in Sharjah from December 25. The 18-year-old Nawaz's recent performances include a five-wicket haul and a four-wicket haul in successive matches for Mis Ainak Region in Afghanistan's Regional Four-Day Tournament.

Asghar Stanikzai will captain the team, which contains three wicketkeepers in Mohammad Shahzad, Shafiqullah and Karim Sadiq.

Afghanistan squad: Asghar Stanikzai (capt), Mohammad Nabi, Nawroz Mangal, Mirwais Ashraf, Samiullah Shenwari, Dawlat Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Shafiqullah, Usman Ghani, Yamin Ahmadzai, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Rashid Khan, Rokhan Barakzai, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Karim Sadiq, Nawaz Khan.