Final (N), Twenty20 Big Bash at Sydney, Jan 24 2009
(20 ov, target 167)
NSW won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
New South Wales
Victoria Innings (20 overs maximum)
RJ Quiney c Bollinger b Bird91566848162.50
AC Blizzard c Katich b Bollinger78100087.50
MS Wade c Henriques b Bird812161066.66
CJL Rogers c Rohrer b Bird4880050.00
AB McDonald (c)not out30294221103.44
AJ Crosthwaite not out137720185.71
Extras(b 4, lb 6, w 3)13
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 8.3)166/4
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Aiden Blizzard, 2.4 ov), 2-40 (Matthew Wade, 6.2 ov), 3-53 (Chris Rogers, 8.3 ov), 4-151 (Rob Quiney, 18.2 ov)
DE Bollinger403117.75---00
MA Cameron403408.50---00
AC Bird402135.25---10
DJ Thornely201206.00---10
SNJ O'Keefe302809.33---10
MC Henriques3030010.00---00
New South Wales Innings (target: 167 runs from 20 overs)
BB McCullum c †Crosthwaite b Harwood1011112090.90
PJ Hughes  b Nannes43323561134.37
SM Katich (c)c Quiney b McGain37243151154.16
MC Henriques c Blizzard b McGain1980011.11
DJ Thornely  b Harwood27243020112.50
BJ Rohrer not out44203414220.00
DLR Smith not out11300100.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 1, w 1)4
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 8.35)167/5
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Brendon McCullum, 3.2 ov), 2-85 (Phillip Hughes, 10.4 ov), 3-92 (Simon Katich, 12.1 ov), 4-92 (Moises Henriques, 12.4 ov), 5-165 (Dominic Thornely, 19.4 ov)
DP Nannes403418.50---00
SM Harwood402726.75---10
AB McDonald402807.00---01
BE McGain403228.00---00
JM Holland3031010.33---00
RJ Quiney1013013.00---00
Stadium Australia, Sydney
TossVictoria , elected to bat first
SeriesTwenty20 Big Bash 2008
Player Of The Match
Ben Rohrer
Series resultNew South Wales won the 2008/09 Twenty20 Big Bash
Hours of play (local time)19.15 start, First Session 19.15-20.30, Interval 20.30-20.45, Second Session 20.45-22.00
Match days24 January 2009 - night match (20-over match)
Rod Tucker
Bruce Oxenford
TV Umpire
Paul Reiffel
Match Referee
Graham Reed
12th Men: SCJ Keen (NSW) and DG Wright (Victoria)
  • Attendance: 17592