Sri Lanka A overhauled Ireland's 147 for 5 with an over to spare in the second Twenty20 warm-up game played at the Nondescripts Ground in Colombo today. The Sri Lankans had been in some strife at 54 for 5 before their recovery, with Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Seekkuge Prasanna and Jeewan Mendis all making 28 to secure the win.
Ireland lost Niall O'Brien early on in their innings as he gave Kosala Kulasekara the first of his three wickets. Contributions from captain William Porterfield (24), Andre Botha (20) and Alex Cusack (20) kept Ireland's score ticking over before Andrew White and Gary Wilson came together, adding 47 runs in quick time to give the total a sheen of respectability.
Kulasekara was the most successful of the seven bowlers used by Sri Lanka A, while Chaminda Vidanapathirana and Mendis also chipped in with a wicket apiece. In return, Ireland's bowers started strongly as Dimuth Karunaratne, Nuwan Zoysa and Dilruwan Perera all fell for single figures.
Chamara Kapugedera, who was captaining Sri Lanka A today, prompted a recovery with a quickfire 20 but with his dismissal - by the 17-year-old George Dockrell - half of the Sri Lankan batting line-up was accounted for before the end of the eighth over.
The lower middle order rallied, with Prasanna particularly severe on the Irish bowlers, clearing the boundary four times before he became Dockrell's second victim. Jayasinghe and Mendis then combined to add 47 and power Sri Lanka A's innings. Cusack bowled Jayasinghe with the first ball of the 19th over, but Mendis remained to guide Sri Lanka A home.