Five Afghanistan players including mystery spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman, fast bowler Hamid Hassan and allrounder Gulbadin Naib await the resolution of a "visa issue", according to an ACB release, before they can join their team-mates for the upcoming T20I series against Zimbabwe in the UAE. The two other players on the wait list are left-arm wristspinner Waqar Salamkheil and the allrounder Azmatullah Omarzai.

A 15-member squad, led by Asghar Afghan, is already in the UAE ahead of the series, which begins on Wednesday in Abu Dhabi. A number of these players were involved in the two-match Test series, which ended on Sunday, with the teams winning one Test apiece.

Afghanistan squad for T20I series: Asghar Afghan (capt), Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Afsar Zazai (wk), Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Amir Hamza, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Farid Malik.
Players awaiting visas: Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Hamid Hassan, Gulbadin Naib, Waqar Salamkheil, Azmatullah Omarzai.