Cricket will be played for the first time at the South-east Asian Games in 2011 in Indonesia as a demonstration sport .

Six sides featuring the national teams from Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, Myanmar and Indonesia will contest a Twenty20 tournament, although as a demonstration sport medals will not be at stake. Cricket Indonesia official, Prakash Vijaykumar, said it was likely the cricket event would be staged in Jakarta.

Vijaykumar said local Indonesian stations normally telecast the SEA Games, and it was likely feeds would be provided to the other visiting countries, including Cambodia, Laos, Philippines, Timor-Leste and Vietnam which won't be taking part in the cricket event. Laos and Timor-Leste are the only countries taking part in the SEA Games which do not have cricket clubs.