Matches (19)
IND in ENG (1)
SL v AUS (1)
IND-W in SL (1)
ENG v IND (1)
NAM T20 (3)
Vitality Blast (8)
RHF Trophy (3)
WI v BDESH (1)

Anrich Nortje, Shabnim Ismail win big at CSA awards

van der Dussen and Shamsi win men's ODI player of the year and men's T20I player of the year awards

Anrich Nortje strains in his delivery, South Africa v England, 4th Test, Day 1, Johannesburg, January 24, 2020

Anrich Nortje won the newcomer of the year award in 2020  •  AFP/Getty Images

Quicks Anrich Nortje and Shabnim Ismail were named South Africa's men's and women's cricketer of the year respectively at CSA's annual awards ceremony, which was held virtually on Monday. Nortje became the 12th player to win the newcomer of the year and men's cricketer of the year awards in successive years.
Both players also bagged other major awards, with Nortje being named the Test cricketer of the year, South Africa fans' player of the year and South Africa men's players' player of the year (sharing a tied vote with Aiden Markram). As for Ismail, she also won the women's T20I cricketer of the year and South Africa women's players' player of the year awards.
Having previously scooped up the women's premier award in 2015, Ismail joined Marizanne Kapp (2013, 2014) and Dane van Niekerk (2016, 2018, 2019) as multiple winners in the professional era.
Batter Rassie van der Dussen was named men's ODI player of the year while left-arm wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi, who is currently No.1 on the T20I bowling rankings, took the men's T20I player of the year award. Lizelle Lee, meanwhile, claimed the women's ODI player of the year award.
"Anrich and Shabnim have set the highest standards that we expect from our icon Proteas players," Pholetsi Moseki, CSA Acting Chief Executive, said in a statement. "Anrich's international career to date has been remarkable. In the space of a year he has gone from being named our International Newcomer of the Year to our overall Player of the Year - an incredible achievement. The pandemic has restricted him to just 10 Test matches to date in which he has taken 39 wickets, including three five-wicket hauls.
"Shabnim is the fastest bowler on the women's international circuit, and she has been the leader of our Momentum Proteas attack for a long time now. She is the only South African to have taken 100 wickets in the T20 International format and she recently passed the significant landmark of 150 wickets in ODI cricket.
"She has played a huge role in enabling our Momentum Proteas to break into the top group of countries with a world ranking of No. 2 in the ODI format."
Allrounder George Linde was adjudged the men's international newcomer of the year while fellow left-arm fingerspinner Keshav Maharaj won big on the domestic front. He was named the SACA Most Valuable Player (MVP) as well as domestic players' player of the season.
Dolphins' Ottniel Baartman, who recently earned his maiden call-up to the South Africa Test squad, was the inaugural winner of the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award. Titans' Markram was named the 4-day domestic series player of the year for racking up 945 runs in seven matches at an average of 94.50, in the 2020-21 season. Former Dolphins allrounder Robbie Frylinck, who had announced his retirement earlier this year, was awarded the one-day cricketer of the season title while Lions' Sisanda Magala was recognised as the T20 challenge cricketer of the season.