The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will send a seven-man England squad for the Hong Kong Sixes, which will be played at Kowloon Cricket Club on 2nd and 3rd November 2002.

Glamorgan's Matthew Maynard will captain the team, as he did in 2001, and he is joined by Paul Collingwood (Durham), Adam Hollioake (Surrey), Ronnie Irani (Essex), Chris Silverwood (Yorkshire), Martin Saggers (Kent) and Glen Chapple (Lancashire). David Graveney, Chairman of Selectors, will manage the side.

England will be one of eight teams in the competition and will play in Pool 2 alongside Pakistan, Australia and Hong Kong. Pool 1 comprises South Africa, Sri Lanka, India and United Arab Emirates.

Teams play each other once in the Pool stage with the top two sides in each Pool progressing to the semi-finals. Prize money will be paid to all entrants with US$80,000 on offer for the tournament winners and US$50,000 to the runner-up.