Matches (20)
IND v ENG (1)
NZ v AUS (1)
WCL 2 (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
CWC Play-off (3)
PSL 2024 (3)
WPL (2)
WI 4-Day (4)

Fakhar Zaman replaces injured Usman Qadir in Pakistan's T20 World Cup squad

Fakhar was undergoing rehabilitation for his knee injury and will be assessed during warm-up games

Umar Farooq
Umar Farooq
Fakhar Zaman was one of the reserves earlier  •  AFP/Getty Images

Fakhar Zaman was one of the reserves earlier  •  AFP/Getty Images

Fakhar Zaman, who had earlier been named in the reserves' list, has been moved into Pakistan's squad of 15 for the T20 World Cup. Usman Qadir, meanwhile, is now one of three travelling reserves - alongside Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani - after failing to recover from a hairline fracture on his right thumb.
Both Fakhar and Shaheen Shah Afridi were undergoing treatment and rehabilitation for knee injuries in London. As reported by ESPNcricinfo on Tuesday, the two will link up with the World Cup squad in Brisbane on Saturday and will be available for Pakistan's warm-up games, against England on October 17 and against Afghanistan on October 19. According to a PCB release, the team management will assess Fakhar's fitness during those games.
Fakhar was originally dropped from the squad because of poor form and injury, with an uncapped Shan Masood replacing him for the home T20Is against England, the tri-nation series in New Zealand, and for the World Cup.
Qadir suffered the thumb injury while taking Alex Hales' catch during the fourth T20I against England in Karachi on September 25, and a PCB statement said that he would not be available for selection till October 22, after which Pakistan can bring him back into their main squad as an injury replacement.
Qadir's selection for the World Cup squad had raised eyebrows as the legspinner had played just one match in the Asia Cup and had limited match-time prior to it. In the three T20Is against England, before he got injured, he had figures of 2 for 36, 0 for 41 and 2 for 48.
His injury means Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz are now the only frontline spinners in Pakistan's squad of 15, with Iftikhar Ahmed able to chip in with his offspin, if required. Shaheen, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Wasim and Mohammad Hasnain are the fast-bowling options.
Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (capt), Shadab Khan (vice-capt), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood
Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

Umar Farooq is ESPNcricinfo's Pakistan correspondent