A first-innings lead in the drawn relegation match sent Saracens Sports Club to next year's first-class tournament, while Panadura Sports Club finished a dispiriting season by moving down into the Emerging Trophy. Panadura won only one match from 11 in the season and lost nine matches outright.

Having chosen to bat, Saracens had been in strife at 103 for 6, but a lower-order resurgence headed by Mohomad Aslam's 55 prolonged to innings to reach 240. Left-arm spinner Amila Perera was the major threat, taking 5 for 47.

Saracens captain Chanaka Ruwansiri then put his team on the brink of promotion, as his legspin claimed 5 for 32 in Panadura's reply, which brought only 157 runs. No Panadura batsman crossed 40, though an opening partnership of 64 had promised much.

Having gained the upper-hand, another lower-order rally for Saracens put the result out of reach. Panadura offspinner Rajeeva Weerasinghe had laid waste to Saracens' top order, eventually taking 6 for 96, but recovery from a scoreline reading 115 for 7 was possible with Amila Mendis slamming a 111-ball 108 to effectively ensure his side moved into the Premier League. His 125-run eighth-wicket stand with Tharushan Iddamalgoda formed the core of Saracens' 299 in the second innings.

Panadura, who only faced two overs in their own second innings, are now resigned to the second division.