Matches (12)
T20 World Cup (2)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
SL vs WI [W] (1)

Khulna hand Rajshahi innings defeat

A round-up of the National Cricket League matches that ended on February 19, 2015

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
Abdur Razzak celebrates the wicket of Ross Taylor, Bangladesh v New Zealand, 1st Test, Chittagong, day 1, October 9, 2013

File photo: Abdur Razzak took seven wickets for Khulna Division against Rajshahi Division  •  AFP

Khulna Division were the only winners in the fourth round of the NCL when they thrashed Rajshahi Division by an innings and 183 runs. It took them to third place in the points table behind Dhaka Division and Rangpur Division.
Batting first, Khulna piled up 560 for 6 with Tushar Imran reaching his maiden double-hundred, remaining unbeaten on 203. He batted for more than seven hours and struck 23 fours in his 372-ball essay. He shared a 295-run sixth wicket stand with Ziaur Rahman, who made 164 off 204 balls with 17 fours and seven sixes.
Rajshahi were bowled out for 225 in their reply with left-arm quick Mustafizur Rahman taking four wickets, making them follow-on. It got worse for Rajshahi as they were bowled out for 152 on the fourth day, Abdur Razzak this time picking up a five-wicket haul.
The drawn game between Barisal Division and Rangpur Division would only be remembered for the 423-run fifth-wicket stand between Barisal's Mosaddek Hossain and Al-Amin.
Batting first, Rangpur declared on 518 for 9 with Litton Das and Naeem Islam hitting centuries, their third and second of the current NCL season respectively. Litton made 175 off 232 balls with 24 fours and four sixes while Naeem struck 20 fours and a six in his 340-ball 147 before being the last batsman to be dismissed.
Offspinner Sohag Gazi and left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed took four wickets each. Barisal's reply was ultimately massive, though their start wasn't a sign of what was to come.
Fazle Mahmud and Mohammad Sajib added 136 runs for the third wicket after both Shahriar Nafees and Saif Hassan were dismissed in the first three overs. Mahmud and Sajib struck fifties but when both were dismissed, Mosaddek and Al-Amin put together their gigantic stand for the fifth wicket. It was maiden first-class centuries for both batsmen, Mosaddek making 250 while Al-Amin scoring 199.
It was only the seventh 400-plus fifth-wicket stand, and the second highest in Bangladesh's domestic cricket after Marshall Ayub and Mehrab Hossain jnr added 494 runs in the 2012-13 season.
It was an extraordinary effort from Mosaddek, whose previous highest first-class score was just 13 while Al-Amin's previous best was 64. Mosaddek batted for more than eight hours to face 448 balls, hitting 21 fours and five sixes. Al-Amin batted at a faster rate, scoring his 199 off 264 balls, with 26 fours. The pair helped add 252 runs in 65.5 overs on the final day, as Barisal were bowled out for 668.
Litton had enough time to add an unbeaten and quick 52 off 41 in the 12.2 overs Rangpur batted on the final evening.
Defending champions and current table-toppers Dhaka Division were thankful to rain for escaping with a draw against Sylhet Division.
Batting first, Sylhet scored 500 in 161.1 overs with Rajin Saleh making a career-best 181 and Alok Kapali contributing with 175, also his highest first-class score. The pair came together in the first hour of the game on 52 for 3, and went on to add 348 runs. Rajin and Alok batted at a similar pace, hitting 39 fours and three sixes between them.
Mosharraf Hossain took five wickets for Dhaka, who replied poorly with the bat, bowled out for 202. Abdul Mazid made 82 and the captain Mohammad Sharif struck 50.
Following-on, they were in trouble at 83 for 3 at the end of the third day but rain allowed only 55.5 overs in Fatullah on the final day, which wasn't enough for Sylhet to take the remaining eight wickets. Dhaka finished on 175 for 5 with Rahatul Ferdous taking four wickets.
Chittagong Division captain Nazimuddin helped his side to draw against Dhaka Metropolis at the BKSP-2 Ground.
Batting first, Dhaka Metropolis made 496 in 143.2 overs with centuries from Marshall Ayub and No. 10 Mohammad Shahid. Marshall made 113 off 173 balls with 14 fours while Shahid's maiden century came off just 108 balls with eight fours and seven sixes. Legspinner Noor Hossain.
Chittagong were bowled out for 274 in their reply, with only Tasamul Haque contributing with an unbeaten 131. Elias Sunny took five wickets for Dhaka Metropolis.
Asked to follow-on, Chittagong were 185 for 4 with more than 50 overs to go, but Nazimuddin kept Dhaka Metropolis at bay with an unbeaten 108. Yasir Ali had given them a good start with his 59 and later Nazimuddin and Tasamul (80) added 162 for the fifth wicket.
Nazimuddin batted for more than five hours to put together his first hundred of the season. His effort and the partnerships were enough to secure the draw on the final day, which started 15 minutes late due to rain and also had one rain interruption for an hour in the afternoon.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84