Red Stripe Bowl: Trinidad and Tobago feel the hurt (20 October 1998)
It was holiday time in Jamaica
20-Oct-1998
20 October 1998
Red Stripe Bowl: Trinidad and Tobago feel the hurt
By Garth Watlley
It was holiday time in Jamaica. Heroes Day. But the mood was not
bright in the Trinidad and Tobago team bus, heading back down the road
from Discovery Bay to their Sandals hotel at Dunn's River. Instead of
being on a high, they were having a dose of the Red Stripe hurt.
Some eight-odd overs had already gone in the 1998 Red Stripe Bowl
final and they were not in it. And having already been relegated from
semi-final winners against the Leeward Islands to losers, captain
Brian Lara and his players yesterday had their protests fall on deaf
ears.
Added to the dramatic events of the previous two days, the apparent
rebuff has ticked off the T & T skipper.
"This shows a lot of unprofessionalism," an aggrieved Lara finally
told the Express in his hotel room yesterday.
"Both teams were told the position at different intervals (on
Saturday). We met the target we were given."
That information was provided to the T & T team by the match officials
but more careful perusal of the tournament rules subsequently showed
it to be incorrect. That is why an emergency committee headed by
Jamaica Cricket Association president Jackie Hendriks had little
choice but to overturn the original decision and declare the Leewards
the winners.
Lara and team manager Rangy Nanan met with match referee Hugh Perry to
argue against the overturning of his original decision to declare T &
T the winners of Saturday's rain-hit semifinal on a faster scoring
rate. But they got no good news.
"We said in our protest letter," Nanan told the Express, "that we were
going to turn up here this morning and this we have done. Brian Lara
and myself spoke to the match referee. And he said that he went along
with the umpires' decision on the first day.
But he said there was a change and he has to go along with them, which
is wrong!"
The T & T protest challenges the right of anyone but the match referee
to alter his decisions.
But it appears that the protest has not been addressed at all. "I had
a discussion with attorney-at-law Howard Hamilton, QC, and we did send
in an official protest letter. And believe it or not, up to this
moment, neither the Jamaican nor West Indies Board have acknowledged
that they have received our letter."
The manager added: "The players are very disappointed. We are hurt.
Because we were so prepared to play the final. I don't think we
deserved what happened to us.
"I said to my players that we are still representing Trinidad and
Tobago and we should behave in a dignified manner." And Nanan ended
with a comment that could still have implications for this seemingly
ill-fated competition. "We did ask him (the lawyer) if we had a case
and he said yes, we did."
Up to yesterday, legal discussions were still taking place in both
Jamaica and Trinidad but no firm decision has yet been made about the
next move.
Source :: The Trinidad Express (https://www.trinidad.net/express/)