South Africa will play Australia and New Zealand, home and away, in 2016-17, Cricket South Africa has announced. They will also host Sri Lanka in all three formats, and Ireland for ODIs.

South Africa kick off their 2016-17 season with a two-Test match series against New Zealand in August. Then they host Australia for five ODIs in September and October 2016, before making a reciprocal tour in November to play Tests. Sri Lanka will tour South Africa from December to February for three Tests, five ODIs and three T20Is, and a full tour to New Zealand will follow these series, in February and March 2017.

South Africa's home series against Australia will be preceded by a visit by Ireland, who will play one ODI each against the hosts and Australia.

"Playing against New Zealand, Australia, Ireland and Sri Lanka in one season will test the winning ways of our [team]," CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. "It will also provide our fans with the opportunity to watch them in action at home in five Sunfoil Test matches, 11 Momentum ODIs and three KFC T20 International matches.

"Test cricket will remain the main focus for our world No. 1 ranked team, and I am pleased the ICC has increased the total Test rankings prize money to $US 1.8 million."

Cricket Ireland CEO Warren Deutrom was pleased at the opportunity to play ODIs against South Africa and Australia. "Cricket Ireland is most grateful to Cricket South Africa and Cricket Australia for giving us this opportunity," he said. "These matches are precisely what [coach] John Bracewell was referring to when he said we need more matches, more regularly, against the best players, in overseas conditions."