Matches (20)
IND v ENG (1)
WPL (2)
PSL 2024 (2)
BPL 2024 (2)
NZ v AUS (1)
WCL 2 (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
WI 4-Day (4)
CWC Play-off (3)
Stats Analysis

Stats - Andre Russell tops JP Duminy, records quickest-ever CPL fifty

All the stats and records from a big win for the Jamaica Tallawahs over the St Lucia Kings

14 - The Jamaica Tallawahs' Andre Russell recorded the fastest half-century in CPL history, in 14 balls, against the St Lucia Kings on Friday. The previous record was off 15 balls, by JP Duminy for the Barbados Tridents against the Trinbago Knight Riders in 2019.
255 for 5 - The Tallawahs' total on Friday was the second-highest in CPL history. The Tallawahs were at the receiving end when the Knight Riders smashed 267 for 2 at Sabina Park in 2019. The previous highest total by the Tallawahs was 241 for 4, against the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in 2019.
49 - Runs scored by Russell in the last two overs of the Tallawahs' innings, the joint-most by any batter across the 19th and 20th overs of a T20 innings (where ball-by-ball data is available). Umar Akmal also scored 49 runs in the last two overs during his unbeaten 115 in 2016.
1 - Only previous instance of a batter walking in after 17 overs in a T20 innings and yet ending up with a fifty (where fall-of-wickets data is available) as Russell achieved today. Abhay Negi recorded the first such instance, having scored 50* off 15 balls for Meghalaya against Mizoram in 2019.
120 - Margin of the Tallawahs' win, the biggest in terms of runs in CPL history. The Patriots, by 119 runs, held the record, while defending their total of 199 against the Tallawahs in 2015.
25 - The Tallawahs' total included 25 extras, the highest in a CPL innings. The previous record was 24 by St Lucia Stars in 2017, against the Tallawahs, when they scored 176 in 19 overs. The seven no-balls by the Kings in the Tallawahs' innings are the joint-most in a CPL innings.
20.33 - Economy rate of Wahab Riaz during his three overs that cost 61 runs - the second-poorest economy for a bowler to have bowled a minimum of two overs in a CPL innings. In all T20s, only three players have conceded more than 61 runs while bowling three or fewer overs.

Sampath Bandarupalli is a statistician at ESPNcricinfo