Mithun Ali smashed an unbeaten 67 to help UCB-BCB XI beat Abahani Limited by six wickets in the opening match of the Victory Day T20 Cup. The win was completed off the final ball of the game, with Farhad Reza conceding the 11 runs required off the last over.

The match started 45 minutes late due to the delayed arrival of the teams' jerseys, keeping the full-house crowd waiting at the Sylhet Stadium.

While the Abahani innings didn't give them too many big hits to cheer, UCB-BCB's Mithun struck four sixes and five fours in his 44-ball innings. Captain Tamim Iqbal made 43 off 46 balls with a six and five fours. The pair added 89 runs after their team had slipped to 15 for 2 in the fourth over.

Pace bowler Delwar Hossain picked up four wickets after UCB-BCB sent Abahani in and restricted them to 139 for 8. Aftab Ahmed made 33 off 26 balls.

Mohammedan Sporting Club beat Prime Bank Cricket Club by five wickets at the Sylhet Stadium.

Prime Bank couldn't make the best use of a good start with the bat, and slumped from 70 for 1 in the ninth over to end at 126 for 7. Anamul Haque made 35 and Saikat Ali 25, before Elias Sunny and Alauddin Babu sparked a collapse with three and two wickets respectively.

Jahurul Islam replied in earnest for Mohammedan despite a lack of support from batsmen at the other end. Only allrounder Sharifullah held on, as the pair added an unbroken 50 for the sixth wicket to complete the win.

Jahurul finished on 65 off 52 balls with eight fours and a six, while Sharifullah chipped in with an unbeaten 22.