Himachal Pradesh 362 and 142 for 3 (Gupta 61*, Sangram Singh 59*) beat Railways 229 and 269 (Sanyal 113*, Sarandeep Singh 5-70)

Himachal Pradesh made their way into next season's Ranji Super League after they beat Railways by seven wickets on the final day of their Plate Group semi final at Dharamsala. Himachal will now play Orissa in the final from January 21 to 25. Both teams have gained promotion to the Super League for 2007-08.

Having restricted Railways to an overnight lead of 126 with two wickets remaining, the Himachal bowlers dismissed the last two batsmen within the first four overs of the day. Sanjib Sanyal, the right-hand No.5 batsman, added only 11 with the last two and himself remained unbeaten on 113.

But Himachal stumbled chasing 137, losing their first three wickets for 38. Opener Sandeep Sharma fell to Jai Prakash Yadav for a third-ball duck with the score 1 for 0. Barun Sharma, came in next, and was promptly run out by Shreyas Khanolkar off the third ball he faced. The score read 2 for 0.

Manish Gupta and Paras Dogra then added 38 before Dogra was bowled by Murali Kartik for nine. Gupta and Sangram Singh, getting a half century each, then knocked off the remaining runs.