Legspinner Erin Birmingham and allrounder Kate Broadmore have been included in the New Zealand women's Twenty20 squad to play Australia after impressing during last month's emerging players' tour across the Tasman.
The newcomers in the ODI side are legspinner Emma Campbell, batsman Natalie Dodd and left-arm-spinner Morna Nielsen. The experienced Maria Fahey, who hasn't played top-level cricket for two years after being diagnosed with chronic fatigue, has been recalled.
"The selection panel believes it is important to start integrating players into the White Ferns who could play a significant part in the next World Cup," coach Gary Stead said.
The squad is missing several key players: Rachel Priest and Lucy Doolan have not been selected for the ODIs due to injuries and rehabilitation (their Twenty20 selection is dependent on them clearing fitness tests), Sarah Tsukigawa is unavailable and Suzie Bates misses the ODI segment because of commitments with the Australian women's National Basketball League.
"The (ODI) team have 10 players with World Cup final experience from 2009 and we will be learning from some of our past mistakes in trying to become a more consistent and complete team," Stead said.
Captain Aimee Watkins said the five new players have had good seasons for their domestic sides and fully deserve their national call-up. Four of the five players were also on the recent emerging players' tour to Australia.
"These are players that we feel have the potential to be real stars in the future," she said. "At the moment we are rebuilding with a view to the 2013 World Cup.
"We obviously want to win every game we play, but now is a good time to bring fresh talent into the team. There is no better place to test yourself than against Australia in Australia."
The five-match ODI series will be played from February 10-18 in Adelaide and Melbourne, and the Twent20s are between the 21st and 28th
ODI squad: Aimee Watkins (capt), Nicola Browne, Abby Burrows, Emma Campbell, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Maria Fahey, Victoria Lind, Sara McGlashan, Katey Martin, Morna Nielsen, Kate Pulford, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite.
Twenty20 squad: Aimee Watkins (capt), Suzie Bates, Erin Bermingham, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Saskia Bullen, Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, Katey Martin, Rachel Priest (wk), Kate Pulford, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite.