2nd ODI (D/N), Auckland, Feb 19 2000, Australia tour of New Zealand
(24.4/50 ov, target 123)
Australia won by 5 wickets (with 152 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
New Zealand Innings (50 overs maximum)
CM Spearman c †Gilchrist b McGrath042000.00
NJ Astle c ME Waugh b B Lee016000.00
SP Fleming (c)c S Lee b B Lee1424363058.33
RG Twose  b Warne2539605064.10
CL Cairns c B Lee b McGrath18140012.50
CD McMillan c †Gilchrist b B Lee3549935171.42
CZ Harris c †Gilchrist b S Lee923331039.13
AC Parore  b S Lee022000.00
SB Styris c ME Waugh b Warne11211008.33
DL Vettori c Symonds b McGrath22193440115.78
PJ Wiseman not out1350033.33
Extras(lb 6, nb 2, w 6)14
TOTAL(30.1 Ov, RR: 4.04)122
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Craig Spearman, 0.4 ov), 2-0 (Nathan Astle, 1.1 ov), 3-30 (Stephen Fleming, 7.5 ov), 4-31 (Chris Cairns, 10.4 ov), 5-52 (Roger Twose, 13.3 ov), 6-81 (Chris Harris, 20.4 ov), 7-81 (Adam Parore, 20.6 ov), 8-84 (Scott Styris, 23.4 ov), 9-119 (Craig McMillan, 29.2 ov), 10-122 (Daniel Vettori, 30.1 ov)
GD McGrath8.123334.04---01
B Lee712133.00---21
SK Warne1003523.50---40
S Lee512725.40---00
Australia Innings (target: 123 runs from 50 overs)
ME Waugh c †Parore b Cairns27100028.57
AC Gilchrist c Twose b Vettori1013182076.92
A Symonds c Styris b Vettori33264351126.92
ML Hayden c Vettori b Wiseman50497492102.04
MG Bevan c Cairns b Wiseman825251032.00
SR Waugh (c)not out418230022.22
DR Martyn not out814111057.14
Extras(lb 1, nb 4, w 3)8
TOTAL(24.4 Ov, RR: 4.98)123/5
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Mark Waugh, 2.2 ov), 2-17 (Adam Gilchrist, 3.4 ov), 3-62 (Andrew Symonds, 10.2 ov), 4-98 (Michael Bevan, 17.4 ov), 5-112 (Matthew Hayden, 21.1 ov)
CL Cairns503917.80---23
DL Vettori1013723.70---00
SB Styris402105.25---11
PJ Wiseman502124.20---00
CD McMillan0.40406.00---00
Eden Park, Auckland
TossNew Zealand , elected to bat first
SeriesAustralia tour of New Zealand
Player Of The Match
Brett Lee
Series resultAustralia led the 6-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 1565
Match days19 February 2000 - day/night match (50-over match)
Billy Bowden
Doug Cowie
TV Umpire
Tony Hill
Match Referee
Mike Denness
12th men: IJ Harvey (Aus) and WA Wisneski (NZ)
  • New Zealand innings: 50 from 78 balls, 65 minutes; 100 from 159 balls, 13 minutes.
  • Australia innings: 50 from 54 balls, 47 minutes; 100 from 112 balls, 83 minutes.
  • ML Hayden: 50 from 46 balls, 70 minutes, 9x4, 2x6.
  • PJ Wiseman: best bowling in a one day international.
  • New Zealand innings: 1x7 ball over (called by umpire Cowie)