Matches (21)
NZ v PAK (W) (1)
SA v BAN (W) (1)
BAN v NZ (1)
AUS v PAK (1)
Abu Dhabi T10 (4)
SA v WI (A tour) (1)
BBL 2023 (2)
Asia Cup [U19] (4)
IND v ENG (W) (1)
Hazare Trophy (2)
ZIM v IRE (1)
Legends League (1)
WI v ENG (1)
Singapore, February 19, 2012, ICC World Cricket League Division Five
(43.4/50 ov, T:224) 145

Singapore won by 78 runs

Player Of The Match
77 (122)

All-round Dar helps Bahrain bounce back

A round-up of ICC World Cricket League Division Five matches that took place on February 19 in Singapore

Bahrain bounced back after a poor opening day on which they were bowled out for 49 to beat Argentina by 65 runs at the Kallang Ground in Singapore. After being put in, Bahrain opener Adnan Butt delivered a quick start, racing to 49 off 33 balls including four sixes.
Though the innings slowed down considerably - Argentina struck at regular intervals - there were a series of steady contributions that kept Bahrain afloat. Adil Hanif (39) and Azeem ul Haq (27) were involved in a 55-run stand for the fourth wicket but the crucial innings came from Tahir Dar, whose unbeaten 46 off 44 balls helped Bahrain recover from the depths of 152 for 8. Together with Nos. 9 and 10, he added 61 for the last two wickets and Bahrain posted 213.
Dar was also instrumental in Bahrain's win with a fine bowling performance, taking 6 for 18 in a stand-out all-round effort. The Argentinian top order got starts but neither batsman managed a substantial contribution. Martin Siri made 46 but a collapse ensued, the last seven wickets fell for 20 runs and Dar made inroads. Argentina folded for 148, their second straight defeat.
Malysia thrashed Cayman Islands by nine wickets at The Padang. Cayman Islands were in serious trouble after choosing to bat. They collapsed to a miserable 36 for 8 in the 21st over before the tail gave the tally some respectability by taking it past three-figures. Conroy Wright made 56 at No.9, and he was supported by Kervin Ebanks (19) and Alessandro Morris (14). For Malaysia, Suresh Navaratnam picked up 4 for 15, and Hiran Ralalage and Hassan Ghulam shared five wickets. Shafiq Sharif led the way in the chase, making an unbeaten 74, while captain Ahmed Faiz, who had to retire hurt, chipped in with 33. The victory was sealed in the 31st over.
Singapore's bowlers ensured that a late collapse by their batsmen wasn't enough to prevent the hosts from brushing Guernsey aside by 78 runs at the Indian Association Ground. Buddika Mendis' patient 77 had Singapore sitting strong on 191 for 3. None of the last six batsmen, though, could reach double figures as Singapore were dismissed for 223. The hosts began strongly when Amjab Mahboob dismissed Ross Kneller in the fourth over and Guernsey were soon struggling at 67 for 4. Jeremy Frith was the lone batsmen to resist with his 76, but the next-highest score by a Guernsey batsman was 18. Shoaib Razzak and Saad Janjua finished with three wickets each as Guernsey were bowled out for 145 in the 44th over.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Guernsey Innings
<1 / 3>
ICC World Cricket League Division Five