Matches (16)
IPL (2)
Uganda Women in Nepal (1)
Inter-Insular (1)
ENG v NZ (1)
SLCD-XI in ENG (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)
4-Day Championship (3)

3rd Match, New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Statistical Highlights

It was the 1684th ODI in cricket history

Rajneesh Gupta
  • It was the 1684th ODI in cricket history.
  • It was New Zealand's 368th and Sri Lanka's 345th match.
  • It was the 43rd match between these two sides. The record now reads: Sri Lanka 16, New Zealand 24, tied one and abandoned two.
  • Umpires Doug Cowie and Evan Watkin officiated in their 53rd and 18th match respectively.
  • Lou Vincent, right handed batsman from Auckland, became the 121st player to appear in abbreviated form of the game for New Zealand.
  • Marvan Atapattu played his 50th consecutive match for Sri Lanka since March 1999 (v Pakistan at Visakhapatnam).
  • The wicket of Craig McMillan was 100th for Kumara Dharmasena in his 102nd match. He became the fifth Sri Lankan after Muttiah Muralitharan (222), Sanath Jayasuriya (192), Chaminda Vaas (185) and Pramodya Wickremasinghe (108) and 57th bowler overall to do so.
  • Dharmasena (3-33) returned his best figures against New Zealand. His previous best was 3-41 at Colombo RP on 21-06-1998.
  • Sanath Jayasuriya (103) made his tenth hundred in his 226th match. He became the second Sri Lankan after Aravinda De Silva (11) and 12th batsman overall to score 10 or more hundreds in a career. Jayasuriya also became the fifth lefthander after Saeed Anwar (19), Saurav Ganguly (16), Brian Lara (14) and Gary Kirsten (10) to do so.
  • The hundred was Jayasuriya's second against New Zealand, which equals Asanka Gurusinha's record tally for Sri Lanka. Incidentally Pakistan's Saeed Anwar has scored most hundreds - 4 against New Zealand in a career.
  • The hundred was Jayasuriya's fourth as Sri Lanka's captain thus equalling Arjuna Ranatunga's tally for Sri Lanka. Now only Sachin Tendulkar (6) and Sourav Ganguly (5) are ahead of Jayasuriya while Ranatunga, Mohammad Azharuddin and Jayasuriya have scored four hundreds each.
  • The hundred was Jayasuriya's third in away matches as Sri Lanka's captain, which equals the existing ODI record. Three Indians (Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly) and West Indian Viv Richards have also scored three hundreds each on foreign soil while captaining their sides.
  • Jayasuriya's hundred came off only 76 ballsthe second fastest on New Zealand soil. Chris Cairns had scored hundred off 75 balls against India at Christchurch on 19-01-1996. It was however the fastest against New Zealand in New Zealand bettering Australian Greg Chappell's 82 ball hundred at Auckland on 13-02-1982. Just for the record, India's Mohammad Azharuddin holds the record of scoring the fastest hundred against New Zealand in all matches-home or away. It took him only 62 balls to reach three figure mark at Baroda on 17-12-1988.
  • Jayasuriya's innings included as many as six sixes. It was the second occasion that Jayasuriya has hit six or more sixes in an innings against New Zealand. The previous occasion was during the Mandela Trophy in South Africa at Bloemfontein on 08-12-1994 when he made 140.
  • Jayasuriya has now made 50 scores of 50 or more (including 10 hundreds). He became the third Sri Lankan after Aravinda de Silva with 68 (11+57) and Arjuna Ranatunga with 53 (4+49) such scores. He also joined the elite band of 15 players who have done so. The list is headed by India's Sachin Tendulkar with 77 (27+50) fifty plus scores.
  • The 158 run-partnership between Jayasuriya and Marvan Atapattu is Sri Lanka's best for the opening wicket against New Zealand obliterating the previous best of 91 between Asanka Gurusinha and Jayasuriya at Auckland on 10-04-1995.
  • The partnership was Sri Lanka's second best for any wicket against New Zealand after the 166 run-partnership between Gurusinha and Roshan Mahanama for the second wicket at Colombo RP on 13-12-1992.
  • It was the fifth instance when this pair was getting involved in a century partnership for the first wicket. This equals the Sri Lankan record. Jayasuriya and Kaluwitharana had also been involved in five century stands together.
  • Franklin by conceding 38 runs in four overs (RpO 9.50) achieved the dubious distinction of recording the most expensive figures by a New Zealander in a four over spell against Sri Lanka. The previous record was held by Craig McMillan who conceded 31 runs in four overs (RpO 7.75) at Colombo RP on 21-06-1998.
  • The victory by nine wickets was Sri Lanka's biggest ever against New Zealand in all matches in terms of wickets. It had beaten New Zealand by eight wickets at Colombo PSS on 12-12-1992. It was New Zealand's seventh biggest defeat in all matches (third biggest at home soil).On the other hand it was Sri Lanka's fifth biggest win in all matches.
  • New Zealand has now lost seven matches in a row against Sri Lanka. Infact New Zealand had last beaten Sri Lanka about four years back at Wellington on 27-03-1997.
  • Jayasuriya won the Man of the Match award for the 24th time in his career, which equals Arjuna Ranatunga's tally. Now only Aravinda de Silva with 26 awards is ahead of Jayasuriya for Sri Lanka. However Jayasuriya now holds the record of winning most awards on foreign soil for Sri Lanka. This was his 18th award which takes him past de Silva's tally of 17 awards.
  • The award was Jayasuriya's third against New Zealand. He has now won most award for Sri Lanka against New Zealand equalling the tally of Roshan Mahanama.