Matches (17)
IPL (2)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
T20I Tri-Series (2)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
CE Cup (3)

Amelia Kerr, Daryl Mitchell win top NZC awards

Bates was named the women's ODI Player of the Year, Bracewell for men's ODIs, Glenn Phillips the men's T20I Player of the Year and Blundell for Tests

Daryl Mitchell gestures after bringing up his century, New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test, Christchurch, 3rd day, March 11, 2023

Daryl Mitchell scored four Test centuries in the season  •  AFP/Getty Images

Allrounders Amelia Kerr and Daryl Mitchell have won New Zealand Cricket's flagship annual awards for being the outstanding women's and men's cricketers of the year. Kerr won the inaugural Debbie Hockley Medal whereas Mitchell took home the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal at the NZC awards ceremony in Auckland on Thursday.
Mitchell also won the Redpath Cup for batting in first-class cricket and was recognised for his standout performances in the year, especially in Test cricket. He scored four Test centuries, played a crucial role with scores of 102 and 81 in the last-ball win against Sri Lanka in Christchurch and went up to eighth in the Test batting rankings.
Mitchell ended the season with 913 runs at an average of 70.23 with five half-centuries in 16 innings.
Kerr also won the women's T20I Player of the Year award, alongside the Hockley Medal. She was New Zealand's second-highest T20I scorer in the season, behind Suzie Bates, with a tally of 423 runs at an average of 32.53 and strike rate of 112.20. She was also the joint second-highest wicket-taker with 17 scalps, along with Eden Carson, and an economy rate of 5.52.
Bates was named the ODI Player of the Year for scoring 222 runs, the most in the season by a distance, with three half-centuries at an average of 55.50.
Wicketkeeper Tom Blundell was named the Test Player of the Year for his "continued improvement" in the format, according to the NZC release. He scored 849 runs at 60.64 and effected 38 dismissals behind the stumps, including nine stumpings and the catch of James Anderson down the leg side off Neil Wagner at the Basin Reserve that sealed New Zealand's one-run win.
Tim Southee won the Winsor Cup for his first-class bowling that saw him take 32 Test wickets and overtake Daniel Vettori to become New Zealand's second-highest wicket-taker with a tally of 370.
Glenn Phillips was named the men's T20I Player of the Year for scoring 740 runs in the season at a strike rate of nearly 149 and average of 38.94.
Michael Bracewell was named the men's ODI Player of the Year after he scored over 500 runs that included two centuries: an unbeaten 127 off 82 balls against Ireland, and 140 off 78 balls against India in Hyderabad. His offspin earned him 14 wickets at an economy rate of 5.32.
The domestic awards were won by the following players:
  • Kate Anderson of Canterbury won the Ruth Martin Cup for domestic women's batting, the Super Smash Player-of-the-Year award and was named the women's domestic Player of the Year
  • Gabby Sullivan, also of Canterbury, was awarded the Phyl Blackler Cup for women's domestic bowling
  • Otago allrounder Dean Foxcroft won the Super Smash Player-of-the-Year award and the men's domestic Player-of-the-Year award for his contributions with both bat and ball
  • Chris Brown was named the Umpire of the Year
  • Heath Mills, the NZCPA long-standing chief executive, was awarded the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding service to cricket