2nd Test (D/N), Eden Gardens, November 22 - 24, 2019, ICC World Test Championship
106 & 195

India won by an innings and 46 runs

Player Of The Match
5/22 & 4/56
Player Of The Series
12 wkts

Umesh Yadav five-for completes India's demolition job

They completed their seventh straight win, and became the first team to ever win four successive Tests by an innings

Umesh Yadav is delighted after picking up a wicket  •  BCCI

Umesh Yadav is delighted after picking up a wicket  •  BCCI

India 347 for 9 dec (Kohli 136, Pujara 55, Rahane 51, Al-Amin 3-85, Ebadot 3-91) beat Bangladesh 106 (Ishant 5-22, Umesh 3-29) and 195 (Mushfiqur 74, Umesh 5-53, Ishant 4-56) by an innings and 46 runs
It took India about 47 minutes on the third day to become the first team in Test cricket to win four straight matches by an innings. At 968 balls, this was the shortest Test with an outright result in India, beating the 1028 balls against Afghanistan last year. The win took India's winning streak to their longest: seven. The most incredible statistic, though, was that this was India's first home Test win without a single wicket from a spinner. It was only their second such win overall, after Johannesburg in 2018.
The only man missing out on a great day for statistics was Ishant Sharma, who started the day one wicket short of registering his best match figures and only his second 10-wicket match haul. There were four wickets standing, including a hamstrung Mahmudullah. Umesh Yadav bolted past Ishant for the innings, taking three wickets, and Mahmudullah couldn't make it to bat again. That gave Umesh his second Test five-for.
The tail was never going to deny India, with the lower order backing away frequently against the unsettling pace of the fast bowlers. Overnight half-centurion Mushfiqur Rahim was going to be the only resistance, and it ended with a clever slower ball as he looked for quick runs.

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Bangladesh Innings
<1 / 3>
ICC World Test Championship