Ireland 274 (Botha 56, O'Brien 53, McCallan 50, Borren 3-54) v Netherlands 125 for 5 (ten Doeschate 56*, Langford-Smith 3-41) - No Result
Ireland secured the European Championship title when their final match against the Netherlands, at Ayr, was abandoned because of rain. Ireland were well on course for victory after racking up 274 and running through the Dutch top order.
The Ireland total was based around consistent contributions throughout their order. Andre Botha and William Porterfield laid a solid foundation and carried the Irish to 93 for 1. Niall O'Brien, the Kent wicketkeeper who was available for this tournament after Geriant Jones was dropped by England, struck a fluent half-century but the real fireworks came towards the end.
Kyle McCallan opened his shoulders and crunched 50 off 32 balls to push the total well beyond 250 before Ireland were bowled out off the last ball of the innings.
The Netherlands crashed to 47 for 5 in reply as David Langford-Smith grabbed three wickets. However, Ryan ten Doeschate was leading a recovery and had reached 56 off 41 balls when the rain arrived and put paid to any chance of an outright result.