At Mirpur, March 20, 2012 (day/night). Bangladesh won by five wickets (D/L). Bangladesh 4pts. Toss: Bangladesh.

Very occasionally, a game of cricket changes the mood of a nation: this was one such moment. Bangladesh calmly chased 212 in 40 overs to gift their fervent supporters a major final after years of disappointment. Just as sweetly, Bangladesh's victory edged out India, thanks to the result in their head-to-head encounter. Again it was Shakib Al Hasan who drove them into a position of strength, but his dismissal - four overs after the departure of Tamim Iqbal set the alarm bells ringing, as the revised target was still 77 runs away (there had been a 90-minute rain delay). However, Mahmudullah and Nasir Hossain coolly took Bangladesh over the line in the face of a barrage from Malinga. Senanayake's off-spin also induced a few jitters, but not enough - and Sri Lanka returned home without a win.

Man of the Match: Shakib Al Hasan.