Stats Analysis

Stats - Kraigg Brathwaite's marathon effort, and a rare 0-0 series draw

Stats highlights from North Sound, where Sri Lanka and West Indies played out a second straight draw

Kraigg Brathwaite spent 813 minutes batting across both innings, the most by a West Indies player in Tests  •  AFP

Kraigg Brathwaite spent 813 minutes batting across both innings, the most by a West Indies player in Tests  •  AFP

0-0 Scoreline of the Test series between West Indies and Sri Lanka, the first Test series in nearly six years to end in a 0-0 draw. The two-match Test series between Bangladesh and South Africa in 2015 was the last to end with a 0-0 scoreline. Only 309.1 overs of play took place during that series played during the monsoon season.
813 Minutes batted by Kraigg Brathwaite in the second Test against Sri Lanka, the most in a Test for West Indies. Brathwaite's first-innings century came across 514 minutes, while his 85 in the second essay lasted 299 minutes. Brathwaite faced 507 balls in this match, the joint-most by a West Indian in a Test match since Brian Lara's 400* off 582 balls against England in 2004.
1 Number of centuries for Brathwaite in nine Tests as a captain. Brathwaite had only two fifties across 16 Test innings while leading the West Indies before the second match. The 126-run knock is also his first century in 38 Test innings.
4 Player-of-the-Series awards for specialist Sri Lankan pacers in Test cricket, including Suranga Lakmal against West Indies. Chaminda Vaas won it twice while Nuwan Kulasekara, against Pakistan in 2009, was the last to get the award.
4 Test matches played by West Indies in 2021; two against Bangladesh (2-0) and two versus Sri Lanka (0-0). It is the first instance for West Indies since 2013 where they went three or more successive Tests without a defeat.
2 Century partnerships for Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne in the fourth innings, the most by a pair for Sri Lanka in Tests. Only one opening pair has more than two century stands in the fourth innings in Test history - four by Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes.
8 Series of two-plus Tests where both teams fielded the same 11 players in all matches, before the West Indies vs Sri Lanka series. Seven of the previous eight series were two-match Test series, while the three-match series between England and India in 2007 was the other.

Sampath Bandarupalli is a statistician at ESPNcricinfo