Bangladesh have picked their 15-member squad for the Under-19 World Cup, which begins next month in New Zealand. The BCB did not name a captain but it is likely that Saif Hassan, the highly-rated opener, will lead the side because he has been captain for the last two years.

Saif and Pinak Ghosh played the 2016 Under-19 World Cup, where Bangladesh reached the semi-final for the first time. Apart from these two, Bangladesh will depend on Afif Hossain and Towhid Hridoy for their runs.

Qazi Onik and Robiul Haque will lead the pace attack, while the offspinner Nayeem Hasan is likely to be the main specialist spinner. Thirteen of the 15 players have played youth ODIs in the last two years, with reserve wicketkeeper Shakil Hossain and pace bowler Roni Hossen the only ones who have not.

Bangladesh leave for New Zealand on December 26 and their tournament begins on January 13, when they take on Namibia. Canada and England are the two other teams in their group.

Squad Saif Hassan, Pinak Ghosh, Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Towhid Hridoy, Aminul Islam, Mohammad Rakib, Mahidul Islam Ankan, Shakil Hossain, Robiul Hoque, Nayeem Hasan, Qazi Anik, Roni Hossen, Hasan Mahmud, Tipu Sultan

Reserve players Mohammad Sozib Hossain, Rayan Rafsan Rahman, Shakhawat Hossain, Saidul Islam, Yeasin Arafat, Abdul Halim, Monirul Isam.