Round-up: Mumbai trump Delhi as Shreyas Iyer puts on a show

Karnataka and Jharkhand made it two in two , while Maharashtra had little trouble putting it past Bengal

Shreyas Iyer targets the off side, Delhi Daredevils v Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2018, Delhi, May 2, 2018

Shreyas Iyer targets the off side  •  BCCI

Deshpande, Iyer sparkle as Mumbai beat Delhi
The two best scorers for Delhi in their game against Mumbai were Dhruv Shorey and Lalit Yadav, both with 33. But those 66 runs took up 55 balls, meaning Delhi could only put up a modest 144 for 7, which Mumbai had little difficulty topping with eight wickets and a whole over in hand in their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Super League match in Indore.
Medium pacer Tushar Deshpande was the best of the Mumbai bowlers on show on the day, as he nipped out Unmukt Chand and Nitish Rana off consecutive balls in the tenth over of the Delhi innings and then sent back Lalit Yadav and Subodh Bhati at the death.
Prithvi Shaw fell cheaply at the start, but with a not-too-imposing target facing them, Jay Bista and Shreyas Iyer got their eyes in and chipped away at the target without too many worries. Bista fell after scoring 39 from 33 balls, but Iyer, the captain, saw the chase through with an unbeaten 53, while Suryakumar Yadav hit 42 not out in 26 balls in an unbroken 76-run stand for the third wicket.
It was Delhi's second defeat in as many games in the Super League stage after they put up a poor batting performance to go down by nine wickets against Vidarbha in their opening fixture.
Second win in a row for all-round Karnataka
This one could have gotten tricky for Karnataka, as Uttar Pradesh crossed 90 for the loss of just one wicket by the 13th over of their chase of 150, but the superior experience and class of Manish Pandey's men saved the day for them.
Batting first, Karnataka put up 149 for 6, with Rohan Kadam (35) and Mayank Agarwal (33) the biggest contributors even as three other batsmen crossed 20.
M Prasidh Krishna then sent back Samarth Singh to leave UP at 31 for 1 in the fifth over before Akshdeep Nath and Upendra Yadav, the captain and wicketkeeper respectively, fought back to push Karnataka on the back foot.
They added 60 runs together before Nath fell, and the chase went off the rails completely after that. Wickets fell in a rush, medium pacer V Koushik picking up three of them, as there was almost no resistance from the UP batsmen. They stopped at 139 for 8, losers by ten runs when they could have gotten on the points board in their first game itself with a little more fight.
Muthuswamy, Tripathi lead Maharashtra to victory
Wriddhiman Saha was dismissed for a duck for the second game in a row as Bengal put up only 138 for 7 in their 20 overs. Maharashtra cantered to victory in just 17.1 overs with seven wickets in the bag in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Super League Group A game in Indore.
Domnic Muthuswami, the right-arm medium pacer celebrating his 38th birthday, was the one to cause most damage to the Bengal batting line-up, sending back Shreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Easwaran with only three runs on the board - it was 3 for 3 when Easwaran was dismissed, Saha having fallen first to Samad Fallah.
Muthuswami ended with 3 for 15 from his four overs after striking late in the Bengal innings again, but there was a fightback led by Manoj Tiwary, the captain, and Shahbaz Ahmed, the No. 7 batsman. After they came together with the scoreboard reading 25 for 5, Tiwary and Shahbaz collaborated for 55 runs before Tiwary fell for 41. Shahbaz went on to hit a breezy 44-ball 60.
It looked like a below-par target, and Rahul Tripathi made it appear even smaller with an unbeaten 46-ball 60 from the top of the order. Ruturaj Gaekwad was the early aggressor in the chase, hitting 20 of the 25 runs for the first wicket, and Tripathi then put together 59 runs for the second wicket with Rohit Motwani (36) to put the game beyond Bengal.
Jharkhand beat Railways by five wickets
Fifties from Virat Singh and Anand Singh helped Jharkhand beat Railways by five wickets and with an over to spare, as they took the top spot in Group A of the Super League phase.
Jharkhand had been able to restrict Railways to 135 for 8 after putting them in. Medium-pacer Rahul Shukla, who is the second-highest wicket taker in the tournament with 16 wickets in seven games, took 2 for 19 in four overs, with support from offspinner Utkarsh Singh who took 1 for 14 in his three. Railways had only one substantial individual performance with the bat, opener Pratham Singh's 41, which came off 39 balls.
For Jharkhand, Anand dominated an opening stand of 47 with Ishan Kishan who made an 18-ball 16, before reaching his fifty as he put on 51 for the second wicket with Virat. Railways pulled things back in the middle overs, with Jharkhand falling from 98 for 1 to 110 for 4 in less than three overs, but Virat steered them home in the 19th over, bringing up the win and his fifty with 10 off the last two balls.